Computational Facilities

Learn more about our computational facilities: ERSL Environmental Remote Sensing Lab at The City College of New York (CCNY), GIS and Remote Sensing Lab (T-424)- The City College of New York (CCNY), The Urban GISc Lab at Lehman College, and CUERG - Coastal Urban Environmental Research Group at The City College of New York.

Optical Remote Sensing Lab

The Optical Remote Sensing Laboratory is part of the Cooperative Remote Sensing Science and Technology Center (CREST), a multidisciplinary center, led by the City College of the City University of New York (CUNY)

CREST-SMART (Soil Moisture)

A soil moisture observation network approved by NASA as a core validation site for the SMAP mission is deployed in the region of Millbrook, NY


The CREST- Snow Analysis and Field Experiment (CREST-SAFE) is being carried out to collect the long term intra-seasonal microwave and surface observations to analyze the snow transitional period from dry, wet, and to melting snow conditions.

Coastal Observatory - LISCO

​Advances in oceanic bio-optical processes are expected to be more heavily focused on improving satellite retrieval products of inherent optical properties (IOPs) of coastal waters, which, because of their complexity, offer more challenges than open ocean waters, where satellite observations and retrieval algorithms are already reasonably effective.


​The latest meteorological observations in and around The New York metropolitan area (NYC) at NYCMetNet, provided by the Remote Sensing Laboratory of The City College of New York.

Satellite Receiving Station

The Satellite Receiving Station (SRS) located on the roof top of the NAC building at the City College of New York. The installation consists of two separate antennas and acquisition systems.

Crest Lidar Network

CREST LIDAR Network (NY,VA,MD,PR) studies the vertical profiling along the Atlantic Coast transect from NYC to Caribbean with applications to aerosol transport and air quality.

CREST Consortium

CREST is led by The City University of New York and brings together Hampton University, VA; University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, PR; San Diego State University, CA; University of Maryland Baltimore County, MD; University of Texas at El Paso, TX.